What a great feeling to be able to share what you have learned with others and keep on learning from others, as well.  I’ve just come home from giving a presentation along with three other educators – Michael Friesen, Rhonda Morrissette and Heather Eby – and I hope we have inspired others to get involved using Web 2.0 tools in the classroom.  All four of us were were asked to be panelists  for the Manitoba School Library Association’s L.I.T. Forum “Using Web 2.0 Tools in the Classroom.”  Check out our page on Michael Friesen’s The Wired Librarian wiki.

I think the best thing about the forum was the panel talking to others about not needing to be an expert on Web 2.0 to get involved.  Clearly, we were all a bit nervous about putting ourselves “out there” since none of us really consider ourselves to be experts on Web 2.0 tools but the message was clear, it’s not as hard as you hink and the rewards with connecting with your students and taking them to a higher thinking level are more than worth it. 

My primary message to the group was that if I can use Web 2.0 tools in my teaching practice, anyone can.  A few short years ago I knew virtually nothing about computers and Web 2.0 (I was and still am a band teacher afterall) and now I find myself being asked to give a presentation on the topic.  Wow!  I’ve come a long way.

How did I get here so fast?  By asking a lot of questions and getting involved in the edublogosphere (afterall, isn’t sharing what Web 2.0 is all about?) and not being afraid to try things on my own and keep trying when things don’t go as planned the first time (something our students are so great at).  Once you learned one tool, moving on to the next isn’t quite as daunting and before you know it, you’ve made great strides. 

What a great priviledge to have been asked to share and continue to learn with others at the MSLA L.I.T. Forum.   We’ve already been asked back to do another educator presentation.  I’m pumped to share and learn even more!

Jo-Anne

