I’ve been too busy lately working on a university course to blog much these past few weeks but a post by Floyd Pentlin: School Libraries: The Steak & the Sizzle spurred me to get back in the saddle.  Pentlin, who’s currently teaching a course about information technology in libraries, talks about the importance of virtual libraries and why librarians are not purchasing more eBooks and audio books for their collections which gives students 24/7 access to books. 

Pentlin’s post was a timely one for me as I find myself currently contemplating how best to spend a generous lump sum of money recently given to all the school libraries in my division. Our board recognizes the need to update library collections but as I look at the latest catalogue offerings, it’s becoming apparent to me that I shouldn’t just be considering hard copy books but eBooks and audio books, as well.

Being able to access our collections 24/7 is an amazing concept. During school, the idea that everyone can be using the same eBook to conduct research (rather than sharing 1 hard copy amongst them) makes total sense to me. But I’m not sure where to begin. Who has the best products? Who has the best interface? What’s a good price? All questions I have in my mind as I move forward selecting books for my library collection.

I’d love to hear others views on eBooks.  Are they are great as they appear?

 

Jo-Anne

