A fellow blogger, Saudixpat, asks an interesting question about whether the digital world can lead back to education in the more traditional sense. I wonder if we really need to go in what I see as a backward direction?

But is it going backwards? I know that there are obviously certain skills like reading and writing that students need to function in today’s society but can these be taught through a digital medium?

These would be interesting questions to discuss at the Web 2.0 Lit Forum panel that I’ve been asked to speak at in February. This opportunity has quickly led into another. Now I’ve been asked to be a presenter at our Manitoba Provincial Library Association’s annual conference in May. I think the organizers of the conference might have been wise to hear me speak at the first event before signing me up for their event. I’ve never done this before so it might be pretty brutal!

Jo-Anne

