Welcome back fellow 2.0 learners and educators,

I don’t know what happened to the font size on my last post.  I can’t see anywhere that I can control font size on the template I’m using so I just don’t know.  I’m also having Internet reception problems at home and at my school (wireless router)  which is driving me crazy.  Whenever you’re doing anything with technology, it’s my motto that you should always have a back-up plan.

 

Yesterday when I was telling you what new things I could do with Picasa, I forgot to mention that I used it to post pictures in my new facebook account.  I couldn’t believe how easy it is to post pictures and share them with others on facebook.  Mind you, whoever you want to send them to has to have a facebook account whereas if you just use picasa, you can send anyone a link to view your pictures.  Since facebook is blocked at our school, Picasa would be more useful as a teaching and learning tool.  I was surprised that I could post my own video on facebook, as well.  It took a little time to load but once it was up, sharing it was no problem. 

 

Further to choosing blogging sites from my first post, today at school another teacher-librarian and I set up a new blog for our students to discuss the books in the Manitoba Young Readers Choice Awards.  I was pleasantly surprised that I was able to tell her about the pros and cons of various blog hosting sites (I must have learned something last week!).  In the end, we decided to stay with November Learning Communities because the site allows multiple users to moderate comments without using email.  Although we still had trouble adding pictures (which I mentioned in my first post), in able an hour we had our blog set up and ready to go.    This is the third year for our blog.  At first only three schools collaborated, the next year five schools and this year, all the schools in our division have been invited to be a part of our learning community.  I wonder if next year we’ll add schools from outside our division.  I’m planning on making our blog a little more interactive this year by requiring my students to ask a question about the book they are commenting on rather than just saying what they thought of the book.  This way I hope to get more discussion between students happening.  My students can easily access the blog from my library wiki which is attached to our school’s homepage.

 

Yesterday I applied for a Yahoo! email so that I could use the Flickr site.  Today, I added pictures on my blog from Flickr.  They’re pictures my sons took at the Vancouver Aquarium this past summer.  The directions on wordpress weren’t quite accurate on how to do this but I managed, after a little frustration to figure it out by searching around Flickr for the feed link.  WordPress said the feedlink was on the homepage but I found it on the photo page.  You might notice that I also added an RSS feed of the Blue Skunk Blog to my blog but more on that in another post about RSS feeds.

 

Tomorrow, I’m going to search for any research on the benefits of using photo sharing tools in the classroom and explore more of the features of Flickr that I can use on a personal and professional level.

 

Jo-Anne

